

News Release

For immediate distribution

New Physician Member Elected to CPSS Council

SASKATOON, January 13, 2017 – The Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan is announcing the election by acclamation of Dr. Olawale Franklin Igbekoyi to the position of Physician Member, Heartland Health Region. He will be replacing Dr. Lynda Keaveney who had stepped down for personal reasons.

Originally from Nigeria, Dr. Igbekoyi shares with us that he is from a very humble background. He obtained his Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery degrees from the College of Medicine, University of Lagos. After his internship and several years of family practice and hospital positions in Nigeria, he successfully passed through the SIPPA program in 2012. Dr. Franklin commenced practice in January 2013 at the Rosetown and District Primary Care Centre providing primary care services to the community of Rosetown and surrounding small towns. He has supported the SIPPA program by working as a physician examiner since September 2013. He is a member of the Heartland Health Region



Dr. Olawale Franklin Igbekoyi Physician Member, Heartland Health Region, CPSS Council

patient order set committee responsible for developing the current patient order set for acute care services. He obtained his CCFP in the fall of 2016 and is also currently pursuing a course in Occupational Medicine at the University of Alberta and a doctoral degree in Transformational Leadership at RCCG North America Seminary.

"I consider myself very fortunate and extremely privileged to be associated with the College in its role in regulating the Medical Profession in the Province of Saskatchewan. I promise to work hard and give my very best to achieving the set goals and vision of the College," stated Dr. Igbekoyi.

"On behalf of Council, I would like to welcome Dr. Igbekoyi. Taking an active role in the College is a significant commitment of time away from family and practise responsibilities. The willingness of new councillors to offer their valuable time, for the good of the profession, needs to be recognized and appreciated by all members of the College and the public we strive to serve," added Dr. Alan Beggs, president of the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan.

Dr. Igbekoyi's first Council meeting in his new role will be on January 20, 2017. Council would like to remind members and the public that Council meetings are open to the public and are held in the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan's upstairs boardroom at 2174 Airport Drive, Saskatoon, SK.

The mission of the **College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan** is to serve the public by regulating the practice of medicine and guiding the profession to achieve the highest standards of care. It currently issues licenses to more than 2,500 physicians and surgeons in the province, as well as over 1,500 corporate permits.

Information: Caro Gareau

Communications Officer || *Agente des communications* College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan

1 306 667-4638 or 1 306 244-7355

cps.sk.ca